Australia wins Sultan Azlan Shah hockey tournament for the 7th time

Comments (0)

Australia won the 2013 Sultan Azlan Shah hockey tournament , winning overall for the seventh time, defeating host Malaysia 3-2 in the finals held at Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia. South Korea beat New Zealand 2-1 to clinch the bronze medal, while India defeated Pakistan 4-2 to finish 5th.

The Sultan Azlan Shah Cup is an annual international men's field hockey tournament held in Malaysia. It began in 1983 as a biennial contest but is held every year since 1998, following its growth and popularity. The tournament is named after the ninth Yang di-Pertuan Agong (King) of Malaysia, Sultan Azlan Shah, an avid fan of field hockey.

22nd Sultan Azlan Shah hockey tournament , 2013

Player of Tournament   : Mohd Razie Abdul Rahim (Malaysia)
Man of Match of Final   : Trent Mitton (Australia)
Top Scorer                    : Faisal Saari & Rupinder Pal Singh
Best Goalkeeper           : S. Kumar
Raja Ashman Fairplay  : Korea

Maximum number of wins by a team : (1) Australia 7 times (2) India 5 times (3) Pakistan 3 times

Practice Questions