British Indian novelist and essayist Awarded Mailer Prize For Lifetime Achievement

Comments (0)

India-born author Salman Rushdie has been awarded the prestigious 2015, Mailer Prize for Lifetime Achievement. Mailer Prize honours writers who fully exercise their freedom of creativity and thrive on dialogue and debate. Rushdie was presented with this award by Laurie Anderson at a ceremony held at Pratt Institute in Brooklyn, New York City.

Key facts about Salman Rushdie :

  • Salman Rushdie a British Indian novelist and essayist was born 19 June 1947 in Bombay, then British India, into a Muslim family of Kashmiri descent.
  • He is renowned for combining  magical realism with historical fiction and his work is concerned with the many connections, disruptions, and migrations between Eastern and Western civilizations.
  • Rushdie has authored 12 novels including the Booker Prize winner novel Midnight’s Children and The Satanic Verses. Recently his famous novel Two Years Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights, was published in the English language in September 2015.

The Satanic Verses and the fatwa :

He wrote "The Satanic Verses" in 1988, which became  the centre of a major controversy, provoking protests from Muslims in several countries. Death threats were made against him, Fatwa was issued against him by Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini, the Supreme Leader of Iran, on 14 February 1989, and as a result he was put under police protection by the British government.

Awards and honours :

  1. Rushdie has been awarded  Whitbread Prize for Best Novel (twice), the Writers’ Guild Award, the European Union’s Aristeion Prize for Literature, the London International Writers’ Award and a US National Arts Award.
  2. Rushdie  holds honorary doctorates and fellowships at six European and six American universities. He is also an Honorary Professor in the Humanities at MIT and University Distinguished Professor at Emory University.
  3. Rushdie was elected a fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, Britain's senior literary organisation, in 1983. Rushdie was elected a fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, Britain's senior literary organisation, in 1983.

About Norman Mailer Prize:

The Norman Mailer Prize or Mailer Prize is an American literary award established in 2009 by The Norman Mailer Center and The Norman Mailer Writers Colony to celebrate writers and their works.  Norman Mailer was a 20th-century American author. The prize is given to writers whose work over the years has challenged readers’ perspectives on the world around them.

Other winners of the Mailer Prize for Lifetime Achievement are:

  1. Don DeLillo in 2014
  2. Maya Angelou in 2013
  3. Joyce Carol Oates in 2012
  4. Elie Wiesel in 2011
  5. Orhan Pamuk in 2010
  6. Toni Morrison in 2009


Practice Questions