Government approves two new Major ports

Comments (0)

The Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs (CCEA) approved setting up of two Major ports under Public Private Partnership (PPP) route, to increase country's cargo handling capacity :

(i) Sagar Island in West Bengal : [capacity- 54 million tonnes per annum (mtpa)] - will ease the load of existing riverine ports at Kolkata and Haldia which are facing severe draught limitations, because of the adverse morphological changes in Hooghly River which results in regular siltation. This will be a deep draught port and will therefore save the need for heavy maintenance dredging and would be able to handle large sized vessels.

(ii) Major port in Andhra Pradesh: (capacity 50 mtpa)- will ease the load of overburdened Visakhapatnam Port. Location has not been finalised (techno feasible studies going on in Nakkapalli (Visakhapatnam), Ramayyapatnam (Prakasam) and Dugarajapatnam (Nellore).

  • Major ports are administered under the Indian Ports Act, 1908 by the Central Shipping Ministry, while minor and intermediate ports are administered by State governments and/ or by private sector.
  • At present - 12 Major ports : Kolkata-Halida, Paradip (orissa), Visakhapatnam (Andhra), Ennore (Tamilnadu - ), Chennai , V O Chidambaranar (Tuticorin), Kochi (Kerala), New Mangalore, Mormugao (Goa), Mumbai, Jawaharlal Nehru (JNPT, Navi Mumbai ) and Kandla (Gujarat).
  • Major ports- handles 63% of the seaborne traffic
  • Shipping ministry's maritime agenda 2010-2020 - to increase the total port capacity to 3,300 million tonne from 1,200 million tonne now
  • Ennore Port : only corporatised major port, , others are registered as Trust ( i.e registered as a company -Centre 68 % , Chennai Port Trust- 32 %)
  • Adani's Mundra Port : India's largest private port
Practice Questions