20th Commonwealth Games begins at Glasgow

Comments (0)


India managed to win many hearts the last time round with its performance in the 2010 Commonwealth Games hosted by national capital New Delhi. We, for the first time ever, finished 2nd in the medal tally with staggering count of 101 medals (38 gold, 27 silver and 36 bronze). The theatre has now shifted to a far-away land of Glasgow (Scotland) for the 20th edition of the Commonwealth Games.

Key Points

  • Its the 3rd time that Scotland is hosting this event; the previous two being in Edinburgh (1970 & 1986). 
  • New Zealand's largest city, Auckland, is the only other city to host two Commonwealth Games (1950 & 1990).
  • Official Mascot: Clyde
  • Its a thistle, designed by Beth Gilmour, named after the river that flows through Glasgow.
  • There are 22 gold medals - highest ever - up for grabs in para-sport across five categories.
  • Next Host: 2018 Games will be held in Australian city of Gold Coast (Queensland).

India at this Games

  • India is fielding their second largest ever contingent of 215 athletes in this largest ever commonwealth games to take place from July 23 to August 3, 2014. 
  • They will participate across 14 sports.
  • As a whole, the Games will see over 4800 athletes competing in 18 sports for 261 medal events and have 71 participating nations.

India's chances: Medal count is difficult to improve

  • Let alone improve, its even difficult to come close to the tally we scored in the last games thanks to scrapping of some and reduction in other medal events we are strong in.
  • Medal events in Shooting (our best bet) has been dropped from 44 in 2010 to 19.
  • Archery, Greco-Roman wrestling and tennis has been scrapped totally.

Its noteworthy that... 

  • We had secured a combined 12 medals from archery and tennis in 2010.
  • We also had bagged 14 medals from the 18 shooting events which are no longer the part of this Games.
  • Dropped Greco-Roman category (wrestling) had given us 8 medals in Delhi.

Interesting Points

  • It has been called as the British Empire Games (1930-1950), British Empire and Commonwealth Games (1954-1966), and British Commonwealth Games (1970-74).
  • We consistently refer it as Commonwealth Games from 1978 onwards.
  • Australia leads the overall medal count with a staggering 803 gold medals and are the only nation with over 2,000 medals.
  • Alexandra Croak is the only athlete in history to win gold medals at the Commonwealth games in two different disciplines (diving and gymnastics).
Practice Questions