Angela Merkel wins third term as German Chancellor

Comments (0)
The German Chancellor Angela Merkel won a historic third consecutive term by winning almost 42 per cent votes falling just short of majority by 5 seats in a 630 members Bundestag (Lower house of Parliament). Surprisingly her coalition partner FDP failure to win a single seat (as it polled less than the mandatory threshold of minimum 5 per cent votes) has forced her to seek a new coalition partner to form the government.
Record breaking victory
  • She is now on track to surpass Margaret Thatcher (1979-90) as Europe's longest-serving female leader.
  • Konrad Adenauer was the last chancellor to secure a Bundestag (German Parliament) majority without need of a coalition partner in 1957 (the only one since the world war 2)
  • She becomes the only leader in the eurozone to be re-elected since 2010 euro crisis. (12 out of 17 eurozone governments have fallen thereafter)
  • She is only the third post-war chancellor to secure three election wins after 'Konrad Adenauer' and her mentor 'Helmut Kohl'
  • Her party Christian Democratic Union/ Christian Social Union of Bavaria polled 41.5% of the vote but sadly her other coalition partner, the FDP secured just 4.8% of the vote consequently falling out of parliament for the first time since its inception.
The Final tally
  • Christian Democratic Union/ Christian Social Union of Bavaria: 311 seats (The incumbent)  
  • Majority mark: 316
  • Social Democrats: 192 (The main opposition)
  • Left party: 64 
  • The Greens: 63
The Bundestag
  • Total seats: 630 
  • It will be 18th Bundestag
Last election result
  • CDU/CSU: 239 seats
  • Social Democrats: 146 seats
German Electoral System
  • The Bundestag is elected using a mixed member proportional system. Voters have two votes: with their first they elect a member of Bundestag for their constituency, with the second they vote for a party
  • Multiparty system notorious for giving split mandate leading to coalition government
Minimum threshold vote
  • A party is required to pass the threshold of minimum 5% votes to win seats in the Bundestag; failing which means no representation in Bundestag
Angela Merkel: some facts
  • Born in communist East Germany she entered politics after the 1989 revolution
  • A former physical chemist she became the Chancellor of Germany in 2005 (First female Chancellor)
  • Topped Forbes magazine's list of "The World's 100 Most Powerful Women" from 2006-2013 barring 2010 (toppled by  Michelle Obama)

President of Germany : Joachim Gauck

December 2013Angela Merkel finally elected as new German chancellor (for third term ) after her party Christian Democrats Union (CDU) struck 'grand coalition' deal with centre-left rival party Social Democrats (SPD).

Practice Questions