Another cricket title for Karnataka: 'Irani Trophy' this time

Comments (0)


And Karnataka juggernaut rolls on..!!

The defending champion proved too-hot-to-handle for their opponent "Rest of India" in the one-off match of 'Irani Trophy'.

The margin of victory was a whopping 246 runs. 

In a 'Deja Vu' of sorts, the state team has completed another treble of national cricket titles; Vijay Hazare Trophy, Ranji Trophy and now the Irani Trophy; just like last season.

Its their 6th overall Irani Trophy for Karnataka who has grabbed it earlier in: 1974-75, 1983-84, 1996-97, 1998-99 and the previos season (2013-14).

The triumph has made them only the second state team to bag back-to-back Irani Cups after Mumbai

Mumbai, the perennial champion, has done it thrice; between 1962-63 to 1963-64, 1969-70 to 1970-71 and 1975-76 to 1976-77.

Irani Trophy:

  • Between the previous year's Ranji Trophy winners and the Rest of India Team.
  • It was established in 1959-60 to mark the completion of 25 years of the Ranji Trophy.
  • Its named after late ZR Irani (associated with BCCI since its inception in 1928, till his death in 1970).

Vijay Hazare Trophy:

  • Established in 2002–03 as a limited-over domestic competition involving state teams from the Ranji Trophy plates group.
  • Its also known as the One-Day version of the Ranji Trophy.
Practice Questions