Assam Assembly Election Results 2016

Comments (0)

Scripting history, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) stormed to power in Assam bagging absolute majority in Assam assembly election for the first time and dethroning Congress which also lost Kerala while Jayalalithaa and Mamata Banerjee retained power in Tamil Nadu and West Bengal with spectacular victories. 

BJP and its allies Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) won a combined 86 seats in the 126-member Assam assembly. On its own, the BJP won 60 seats, the AGP 14 and the BPF 12 seats.

BJP’s Chief Ministerial candidate Sarbananda Sonowal has won from Majuli seat, defeating his nearest rival by more than 18000 votes. Outgoing Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi has won in Titabar seat, with a margin of over 17000 votes.

This is the first time that BJP fought the election with Sarbananda Sonowal as a definite chief ministerial candidate and not on the base of Modi factor as it did in Delhi and Gujarat. 

Assam Assembly Election Results 2016

Parties  Wins+ Leads
BJP+ 86
Congress  24 
Others 2
Total  126/126

Sarbananda Sonowal:  Man behind BJP Victory in Assam

Sarbananda SonowalSarbananda Sonowal, 53, born in 1962 at Dinjan, Dibrugarh is the Man behind the historic victory of BJP in Assam. He contested from river island of Majuli which represents the Vashnavite culture and has won. 

He is popularly known as a firebrand and dynamic youth politician, also regarded as a Jatiya Nayak of Assam, a title given by the All Assam Students Union (AASU) of which he was president from 1992 to 1999.

He was elected the AGP’s legislator from eastern Assam’s Moran constituency in 2001. He then contested and won the Dibrugarh Lok Sabha seat in 2004.

His biggest political victory came a year later when the Supreme Court, hearing his petition, scrapped the Illegal Migrants (Determination by Tribunal) Act of 1983.

Sonowal began his innings with the BJP after quitting the regional party, Asom Gana Parishad (AGP), in 2011. Under his leadership, BJP won 7 seats in 2014 parliamentary polls , 3 more than in 2009, in Assam. 

Assam Assembly Election 2016

The General election for the 14th Assam legislative assembly were held in two phases on April 4 and 11, 2016 across the 126 constituencies of Assam. The overall voter’s turnout was 84.72% which is highest in the history of Assam.

Election Commission of India (ECI) conducted trials of 2300 Voter-verified paper audit trail (VVPAT) machines attached along with EVMs in 10 assembly constituencies of in the state.

Practice Questions