Central Zone lifts Duleep Trophy 2014-15

Comments (0)


Central Zone has clinched the Duleep Trophy 2014-15 pipping South Zone by just 9 runs in a titillating encounter. 

Central Zone has to eek out the narrowest win - in terms of runs - in the history of this championship to bag its 6th title overall.

It had also been crowned champions in 1971–72, 1996–97, 1997–98 (shared with West Zone), 1998–99, 2004–05, 2014-15.

Duleep Trophy: 

  • 5 zonal teams; North, South, Central, East and West; take on one another in a series of 5-day matches.
  • West and North Zones are the most successful teams with 17 titles each. (includes 1 shared trophy by North and three by West)
  • This cricket competition is named after Kumar Shri Duleepsinhji.
  • Players in the team are cricketers who play for the Ranji Trophy state/city teams situated in that Zone.
  • South Zone has bagged 11 titles while East Zone coffers are relatively vacant with just two crowns.

Other Cricket Tournaments in India :

Ranji Trophy :  

  • The topmost domestic cricket championship in the country.
  • The competition is named after former Indian cricketer Kumar Shri Ranjitsinhji who had also represented England in test cricket.
  • State teams, cricket associations and clubs with first-class status are qualified to play in the Ranji Trophy. 
  • Current Champion: Karnataka
  • Mumbai is the most successful team of the championship with staggering 40 wins out of a total of 80 editions. 

Irani Trophy: 

  • Between the previous year's Ranji Trophy winners and the Rest of India Team.
  • It was established in 1959-60 to mark the completion of 25 years of the Ranji Trophy.
  • Its named after late ZR Irani (associated with BCCI since its inception in 1928, till his death in 1970).

Deodhar trophy:

  • 50-over knockout competition between 5 zonal teams. 
  • (We can say that Deodhar Trophy is the 'limited over' version of Duleep Trophy)
  • Its named after Prof. DB Deodhar (known as the Grand Old Man of Indian cricket)

Vijay Hazare Trophy:

  • Established in 2002–03 as a limited-over domestic competition involving state teams from the Ranji Trophy plates group.
  • Its also known as the One-Day version of the Ranji Trophy.
Practice Questions