Commands of Indian Air Force

Comments (0)

The Indian Air Force is divided into five operational and two functional commands. Each Command is headed by an Air Officer Commanding-in-Chief with the rank of Air Marshal. The purpose of an operational command is to conduct military operations using aircraft within its area of responsibility, whereas the responsibility of functional commands is to maintain combat readiness. Aside from the Training Command at Bangalore, the centre for primary flight training is located at the Air Force Academy in Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, followed by operational training at various other schools. Advanced officer training for command positions is also conducted at the Defence Services Staff College; specialised advanced flight training schools are located at Bidar, Karnataka, and Hakimpet, Andhra Pradesh (also the location for helicopter training). Technical schools are found at a number of other locations. Operational Commands :

  1. Central Air Command (CAC)-    headquartered at Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh ; operates Air Bases in Madhya Pradesh and surrounding states of central India
  2. Eastern Air Command (EAC)-    headquartered at Shillong, Meghalaya; operates Air bases in Eastern and North-eastern India
  3. Southern Air Command (SAC)- headquartered at Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala; strategically important Air command protecting the vital shipping routes ; operates Air bases in Southern India and in the Andaman and Nicobar Islands
  4. South Western Air Command (SWAC)- headquartered at Gandhinagar, Gujarat ; front line of defence against Pakistan ; operates bases in Gujarat, Maharashtra and Rajasthan
  5. Western Air Command (WAC) - headquartered at Subroto Park, New Delhi:  largest Air Command ; operates air bases from Punjab to Uttar Pradesh.

Functional Commands :

  1. Training Command (TC)-  headquartered at Bangalore, Karnataka
  2. Maintenance Command (MC)- headquartered at Nagpur, Maharashtra

India also operates the Farkhor Air Base/ Ayni airbase hosting a Indian "military outpost" in Tajikistan (around 15 km from Tajik capital Dushanbe), though officialy both government donot comment much about the base. ALSO SEE : Commands of indian Army, Air force and Navy

Practice Questions