Germany lifts another Champions Trophy

Comments (0)


Germany is the new champion of Champions Trophy hockey.

The 9-time winner added another title to their glorious record by beating Pakistan 2-0 in the final of the Champions Trophy 2014.

India lost the Bronze medal match to Australia to finish fourth.


  • The 35th edition of the tournament was held in Bhubaneswar.
  • The tournament will hereafter shift to a biennial cycle to accomodate the Hockey World League.
  • World's top-ranked teams - presently 8 - compete in a round robin format to win the coveted gold medal.
  • Pakistani Air Marshal Nur Khan founded the tournament in 1978 alongwith the Pakistan Hockey Federation.
  • A parallel tournament for women is also organized every two years - beginning 1987.

Most Successful teams: 

  • Australia with 13 titles.
  • Germans comes second with 10 while Dutch are closed on the heels with eight.
  • Pakistan is the only Asian presence with 3 trophies - last one in 1994 (1978 & 1980)

Previous Champion: Australia

In the women's category, Netherlands, Australia and Argentina are joint toppers with six trophies each.


  • Few Pakistani player made obscene gestures to the Indian crowd after winning the cliff-hanger semifinal match with the host country.
  • International Hockey Federation (FIH) ultimately suspended two of them - Amjad Ali and Mohammad Tousiq - from playing in the final after vehement protest by India.
  • India had threatened to boycott hosting all FIH tournaments in near future - when the world body had let the guilty get away with light reprimand.
Practice Questions