Lewis Hamilton is the new F-1 World Champion

Comments (0)


Lewis Hamilton is the new Formula One (F-1) World Champion.

The British driver clinched his second world title - first in 2008 - by taking the unassailable lead over rivals after winning the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2014.

Key Points

  • He is now the 4th British to win two or more world titles; the other being Jim Clark and Graham Hill (2) and Jackie Stewart (3).
  • Britain has produced more F-1 champions than any other nation - at 10.
  • Brazil and Finland occupy the second spot with three each.
  • He is also the first Mercedes driver to win the championship since Juan Manuel Fangio's back-to-back victory in 1954 and 1955.
  • Previous champion: Sebastian Vettel (Germany) 

About the Title

  • Its awarded to the most successful F-1 driver in a given season.
  • A season consist of several Grand Prix races - held across different venues.
  • A driver scores points based on his performance in each one of those races - the winner gets maximum.
  • The racing driver with the most points is declared the World Champion - its often the winner of most Grand Prix title.
  • Sometimes a driver performs so well that it becomes impossible for others to get even close to his score - in those cases 'The Champion' becomes clear much before the conclusion of all the races in the season.


  • Michael Schumacher (Germany) is considered the greatest F-1 driver in history for clinching a record 7 titles - the most so far.
  • 5 of them were consecutive ones - another record (from 2000-4).
Practice Questions