Meet the new non-permanent members of UN Security Council

Comments (0)


Meet the new non-permanent members of UN Security Council: Venezuela, Angola, Malaysia, New Zealand and Spain.

They replace Argentina, Luxembourg, South Korea, Australia and Rwanda as the latter demit office with the completion of their 2-year term.

The most intense battle was seen between Spain and Turkey for the second of the two seats reserved for Western region.

Eventually, Spain pipped Turkey in the third round of run-off voting.

Apart from 5 permanent members (veto powers) the Security council will now look something like this from January 1, 2015.

Veto Powers (Permanent Members)

  • US
  • UK
  • France
  • China
  • Russia

New entrants scheduled to retire on December 31, 2016

  • Venezuela 
  • Angola 
  • Malaysia 
  • New Zealand 
  • Spain 

Older members due to exit office on December 31, 2015

  • Chad 
  • Chile 
  • Jordan 
  • Lithuania 
  • Nigeria 

Points to Know

  • The 10 non-permanent members are elected on a regional basis to serve 2-year terms. 
  • Election takes place every year to select 5 new members to fill in for the older members who have finished their 2-year term.
  • The other five members demit office in the next year election.
  • A retiring member is not eligible for immediate re-election.
  • The body's presidency rotates monthly among its members.
  • Its noteworthy that a candidate must receive at least two-thirds of all votes cast to grab the appointment; this sometimes lead to a series of run-off voting when the competitors are evenly matched.
  • UNSC used to have only 6 non-permanent members till 1965 - which was then expanded to 10.

Representation by Region

  • African bloc: It has 3 seats  (Angola elected)
  • Asia-Pacific bloc: It has 2 seats (Malaysia elected)
  • Latin America and the Caribbean: 2 seats Asia-Pacific: 2 seats (Venezuela elected)
  • Western European and Others blocs: 2 seats (Spain and New Zealand elected from this group)
  • Eastern European bloc: 1 seat 

Curious case of "Arab country"

  • UNSC must have one Arab representative all the time.
  • The seat is alternately taken from the quota of the Asia-Pacific or African bloc.
Practice Questions