Mohammedan Sporting wins the Durand Cup 2013

Comments (0)
Mohammedan Sporting is the Durand Cup champion for the year 2013. The Kolkata based club ended a long 73-year wait for their second Durand Cup title beating ONGC 2-1. The club had clinched its maiden Durand title way back in 1940 by defeating now defunct Warwickshire Regiment by the exact same margin 2-1. Mohammedan Sporting had finished runners-up in 1959 and 1980 to Mohun Bagan and in 1992 to JCT Mills in the oldest club cup competition in India.
Durand Cup
  • Founded in 1888 Its the third oldest club cup competition in the world after the English and Scottish FA cups.
  • It is named after its founder Sir Mortimer Durand, a British India's Foreign Member of the time, the counterpart of the Foreign Secretary in London.
  • It was initially an exclusive military affair based in Shimla.
  • The venue was transferred to New Delhi from Shimla in 1940.
  • Its considered Indian counterpart to the FA Cup in England
Most successful teams 
  • East Bengal and Mohun Bagan: 16 titles each
  • Border Security Force: 7 titles
  • First winner from South: FC Kochin in 1997
Some Facts:
  • Its winners, unlike its European counterpart FA Cups, do not qualify for Asian Football Confederation tournaments. 
  • The I-League and Federation Cup are the only ways to qualify for the Asian cup.
  • The winning team is presented with three trophies: The President’s Cup, the Durand Cup and the Shimla Trophy
  • Previous winner: Air India in 2012 
  • Tournament not held (1939, 1941-49, 1962)
Mohammedan Sporting achievements:
  • Federation Cup: 2 titles (in 1983 & 1984)
  • IFA Shield: 5 titles (in 1936, 41, 42, 57 & 1971)
Other notable football championships in India
  • I-League (Top domestic league in India)
  • Federation Cup
  • Santosh Trophy
  • IFA Shield
Practice Questions