National Bravery Awards to 25 children this year

Comments (0)

25 children have been selected to receive 'National Bravery Awards' for their heroics this year. The awards distributed by Prime Minister on the eve of Republic Day honours and recognizes extreme gallantry by the young ones in the face of danger. 


  • Out of 25, there are 9 girls while 5 awards are to be given posthumously.
  • The awardees will receive a medal, certificate and cash
  • Recipients also get financial assistance until the completion of their schooling. 
  • Since the inception of the scheme in 1957, the Indian Council for Child Welfare (ICCW) has given awards to 871 brave Children- comprising 618 boys and 253 girls. 

Awards categories

  • The National Bravery Awards: Instituted by the ICCW in 1957 for an exceptionally outstanding, meritorious and gallant deed. 
  • The Bharat Award: Awarded since 1987
  • Geeta Chopra and Sanjay Chopra Awards: Instituted by ICCW in 1978 in fond memory of the brother-sister duo who died at the hands of Ranga Billa way back in 1978 in Delhi
  • Bapu Gaidhani Awards: Instituted in 1988 by ICCW.
Practice Questions