National Communal Harmony Award 2013 announced

Comments (0)

Noted Gandhian N Radhakrishnan (Kerala) and Mohinder Singh (Delhi) has been conferred on the National Communal Harmony Award 2013 in individual category; whereas the award in organization category has gone to Mumbai-based 'Centre for Study of Society and Secularism'. The awards recognize their significant efforts in promoting peace, secularism and communal harmony in the country.

N Radhakrishnan

  • He was particularly recognized for his immense contribution in restoring harmony in communally charged areas of Tamil Nadu and Kerala.
  • He, an influential academic and peace worker, has served as Director of Gandhi Smriti and Darshan Samiti (New Delhi) for over a decade.
  • He started the Shanti Sena programme at the Gandhigram University, Tamil Nadu and extended its reach all over to improve communal harmony in the country.

Mohinder Singh

  • He bagged this coveted honour for his work done in restoring peace and communal harmony after the 1984 anti-Sikh riots.
  • He organised relief camps to minimize the damages due to raging riots and also initiated a long and sustained 4-year long programme to restore the amicability between Hindu and Sikh communities.

Centre for Study of Society and Secularism

  • It has received the honour for working on various issues of general interest as social justice, human rights and public empowerment through its rich published works with wide readership.


  • instituted in 1996 by the National Foundation for Communal Harmony (NFCH) for promoting communal harmony and national integration by recognizing and appreciating such efforts of individuals and organisations 'in a sustained manner and over a sufficiently long period of time".
  • Award : a citation, cash - Rs. 5 Lakh for ‘Individuals’ and Rs. 10 Lakh for ‘Organizations’
  • Eligibility 
    (A) Individual : above 35 years and alive , min.10 years of work in this area;
         Not eligible : MP/MLA/ elected to local body , member of any recognised political party

    (B) Organization : Registered, working at All India or state level for atleast 5 years

  • Procedure : nomination by self, Previous recipients, By NFCH councils, MP/MLA/Local Body members , Centre/ State/ UT Govt., their Speakers, Members of the National Integration Council, VCs of universities , other reputed organisations.

  • Objective :
    (i) Discouraging communal ill-will and regional animosities ; weaning the misguided elements of society away from the path of violence;
    (ii) Propagation of Tolerance and Harmony;
    (iii) mobilising constructive forces of society in the cause of national unity and solidarity and giving them leadership, encouragement and articulation;
    (iv) devising suitable community activities/ programmes for fostering fellow feeling emphasising secularism;
    (v) propagating and working for national integration and harmony between different communities, irrespective of religious, linguistic or ethnic differences; and
    (vi) asserting the common values and cultural ties which bind or act as unifying factor among the people living in this country.

  • Generally announced on 26th January.

National Foundation for Communal Harmony

an autonomous Organization set up by Home Ministry in 1992 with the main objective of providing assistance for the physical and psychological rehabilitation (care, education and training) of the child victims of communal, caste, ethnic or terrorist violence and promoting communal harmony, fraternity and national integration. The Home Minister is ex-officio chairman of Foundation's Governing Council.

List of the Previous Award Winners :

Year Name Category
2012 Foundation for Amity & National Solidarity, Delhi Organisation
2011 Shri Khamliana, Mizoram and
Shri Md. Abdul Bari, Odisha (Jointly)
2010 Acharya Lokesh Muni, Delhi Individual
2009 Dr. Mohd. Hanif Khan Shastri, Delhi
Center for Human Rights & Social Welfare, Rajasthan
2008 Dr. Dominic Emmanuel SVD, Delhi
Anjuman Sair-e-Gul Faroshan, Delhi
2007 Shri Ram Puniyani, Maharashtra
Setu Charitable Trust, Maharashtra
2006 Shri Rabindra Nath Upadhyaya, Assam
Institute for Socialist Education, Delhi
2005 Ms. Hema Bharali, Assam
Ramakrishna Mission, West Bengal
2004 Acharya Shri Mahaprajna, Delhi
Akhil Bharat Rachanatmak Samaj, Delhi
2003 National Youth Project Trust, Delhi Organisation
2002 Smt. Syeda Naseem Chishti, Delhi Individual
2001 Dr. Tontada Siddhaling Swamiji, Karnataka Individual
2000 Bhakti Sahitya Shodh Sansthan, Andhra Pradesh Organisation
1999 Bhartiya Vidya Bhawan, Maharashtra Organisation
1998 Maulana Wahiduddin Khan, Delhi Individual
1997 Shri Asghar Ali Engineer, Maharashtra
Quami Ekta Trust, Delhi
Practice Questions