National Sports Award 2014: A complete list

Comments (0)


There are a total of 'five' national sports award in India.

  • Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna: Highest sports award in India.
  • Arjuna Awards: given for outstanding sporting achievements.
  • Dronacharya Awards - given to Coaches.
  • Dhyan Chand Awards  - given for lifetime achievement in sports and games. 
  • Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar - given to organisations or person other than sportperson and coaches who contributes in development of sports in country.

List of winners for the year 2014

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna 2014

  • Not awarded this year
  • It comprises a medal, a scroll of honour and a cash prize of Rs. 750,000.

Arjuna Awards 2014: 15 awardees

  • Ravichandran Ashwin (Cricket)
  • Akhilesh Varma (archery) 
  • Tintu Luka (athletics) 
  • HN Girisha (paralympics)
  • V Diju (badminton)
  • Geetu Ann Jose (basketball)
  • Jai Bhagwan (boxing)
  • Anirban Lahiri (golf)
  • Mamta Pujari (kabaddi)
  • Saji Thomas (rowing)
  • Heena Sidhu (shooting)
  • Anaka Alankamony (squash)
  • Tom Joseph (volleyball)
  • Renubala Chanu (weightlifting) and 
  • Sunil Rana (wrestling)

Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees recieves statuettes, citation and Rs 5 Lakh. 

Dronacharya Awards 2014:

  • Mahabir Prasad: Wrestling
  • N Lingappa: Athletics – Lifetime
  • G Manoharan: Boxing – Lifetime
  • Gurcharan Singh Gogi: Judo – Lifetime
  • Jose Jacob: Rowing – Lifetime

 Dhyan Chand Awards 2014

  • Gurmail Singh: Hockey
  • KP Thakkar: Swimming (Diving)
  • Zeeshan Ali: Tennis 

Rashtriya Khel Protsahana Purushkar, 2014

  • Oil and Natural Gas Corporation Limited (ONGC): in 'Employment of sports persons and sports welfare measures' category.
  • Jindal Steel Works (JSW): in 'Identification and nurturing of budding /young talent' category.
  • Guru Hanuman Akhara, Delhi: in 'Establishment and Management of sports academies of excellence'. 
  • Child Link Foundation of India (Magic Bus): in 'Other forms of sports activities not covered in the four categories mentioned in the schemes'.

Recipients of Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar are given trophies.

Practice Questions