North and South shares Duleep Trophy

Comments (0)

Following continuous rain in Kochi that allowed only ten overs to be bowled during the entire period of play, North Zone and South Zone shared the Duleep Trophy as the joint winners. With most of the 5 days being washed away by the rain only 54 minutes of play was possible and since considerable damage had been done to outfield, umpires decided not to extend it to reserved 6th day and instead declare joint winners.

  • This final thus, earned the dubious record as the Duleep Trophy Final having the least number of playing hours.

This was the fourth time that the Duleep Trophy is being shared. The previous occasions are :
1. 1963-64 (West and South zone)
2. 1988-89 (West and North Zone )
3. 1997-98 (West and Central Zone)

Even though the Final could not be played due to rain, it brought the attention back to falling levels of domestic cricket tournaments in India which are now being overshadowed by limited over formats like ODIs and T20s. The fact that the authorities didn’t have the eleventh hour plan to shift the venue so that the finals could be played, shows the administrative apathy towards these tournaments. Also the fact that other venues in India were not free at this time due to ongoing India-Australia and recently concluded Champions Trophy, shows that it doesn’t find favor with BCCI regarding its scheduling. For past few years it is clashing with the Champions Trophy T-20 and does not have favorable place in India Cricket Calendar.


  • domestic first-class cricket competition named after Kumar Shri Duleepsinhji
  • played between teams representing different geographical Zones of India and is being categorized in to 5 teams : North Zone, South Zone, East Zone, West Zone and Central Zone (from 2003–04 to 2008, a touring foreign team also played as sixth guest team).
  • Players in the team are cricketers who play for the Ranji Trophy state/city teams situated in that Zone.
  • Format : Five Day Match in a League format since 1993–94 (earlier played in Knock out format) Established in 1961–62 ( West Zone defeated South in the inaugural )
  • North Zone and West Zone : most successful teams -17 wins each ( includes 1 shared trophy by North and three by West ). Followed by South Zone

Other Cricket Tournaments in India :

Ranji Trophy :  between teams representing regional cricket associations

The Irani Cup : established in 1959-60 to mark the completion of 25 years of the Ranji Trophy

  • named after late Z.R. Irani (associated with BCCI since its inception in 1928, till his death in 1970)
  • played between the previous year's Ranji Trophy winners and the Rest of India Team.

Deodhar Trophy : (List A cricket competition )*

  • established in 1973-74 (South Zone won the inaugural)
  • named after Prof. D. B. Deodhar (known as the Grand Old Man of Indian cricket)
  • a 50-over knockout competition played on an annual basis among the 5 zonal teams (of Duleep Trophy)

The NKP Salve Challenger Trophy :(commonly called as Challenger Trophy )

  • List A cricket tournament established in 1994–1995
  • named after former BCCI president N. K. P. Salve who is credited with bringing World Cup to the sub-continent in 1983
  • annual tournament played between three sides: India Senior (India Blue) , India A (Red) & India B(Green)
  • consisting of 36 of the best players in India

Vijay Hazare Trophy: (also known as the Ranji One Day Trophy)

  • Established in 2002–03 as a limited-over domestic competition involving state teams from the Ranji Trophy plates.

*[List A cricket : classification used for limited-overs (one-day) form which are considered one level below the International One Days.]

Practice Questions