Services crowned champion of Santosh Trophy 2014-15

Comments (0)


Services are crowned champion of Santosh Trophy 2014-15.

They beat Punjab in the final of 69th edition of this premier football tournament to clinch their 4th overall title here.

The match - having remained goal-less in the regulation time - had to be decided by the penalty shootout.

Services prevailed in the shootout by 5-4 over Punjab.

They have earlier won this trophy in years 1961, 2012 and 2013 besides finishing up as runner on 5 other occasions.


  • This premier football tournament is contested by states and government institutions every year.
  • The inaugural champion Bengal (1941) is the most successful team with 31 titles followed by Punjab (8) and Kerala (5).
  • The trophy takes it name after the late Maharaja Sir Manmatha Nath Roy Chowdhary of 'Santosh' - the place now falls in Bangladesh.
  • The runners-up trophy is called Kamla Gupta Trophy while the third place teams receive the Sampangi Cup - presented by the Karnataka State Football Association in the memory of Sampangi, a renowned footballer from Mysore.


Practice Questions