South Asia Wildlife Enforcement Network

Comments (0)

The Union Cabinet chaired by the Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi has given its approval for India adopting the Statute of the South Asia Wildlife Enforcement Network (SAWEN). 

With this, India will become formal member of SAWEN, a regional inter-governmental body and strengthen it's ties with the member countries in controlling the trans-boundary wildlife crime through communication, coordination, collaboration, capacity building and cooperation in the region.

What is SAWEN

SAWEN is Regional network is comprised of eight countries in South Asia namely Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.  It aims at working as a strong regional inter¬governmental body for combating wildlife crime by attempting common goals and approaches for combating illegal trade in the region. 

India has set following objectives to attain the goals :

 To take initiatives for bringing harmonization and standardization in laws and policies of member countries concerning conservation of fauna and flora; 

⇒ To document the trend of poaching and illegal trade, and related threats to the natural biodiversity within and across countries in the region; 

⇒ To strengthen institutional responses to combat wildlife crime by promoting research and information sharing, training and capacity building, technical support, sharing experiences and outreach; and 

 To encourage member countries to prepare and implement their National Action Plans in curbing wildlife crime and to collaborate towards effective implementation. 

Background : The South Asia region is very vulnerable to illegal traffic and wildlife crimes due to presence of precious biodiversity and large markets as well as traffic routes for wildlife products in the south East Asian region. The collaboration in harmonising as well as enforcing the wildlife protection in the region is considered very important for effective conservation of such precious biodiversity.

Practice Questions