The 7th annual BCCI Awards 2012-13 announced

Comments (0)

Veteran cricketer Kapil Dev has been bestowed on the CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award by the BCCI at its 7th annual awards. The award contains a Trophy, citation and cheque for Rs 25 lakhs. The Polly Umrigar Award (Trophy and cheque for Rs 5 lakhs) for being India’s best international cricketer of the year 2012-13 has been bagged by Ravichandran Ashwin.


  • India’s best performers in the senior and the junior level cricket in a period of 12 months from 1 October 2012 to 30 September 2013 are honoured at these Awards.
  • The ceremony felicitating the winners will be held in Mumbai on January 11.

The Polly Umrigar Award winners so far:

  • Sachin Tendulkar (2006-07 and 2009-10) 
  • Virender Sehwag (2007-08) 
  • Gautam Gambhir (2008-09) 
  • Rahul Dravid (2010-11)
  • Virat Kohli (2011-12)

Best Overall Performance in the 2012-13

The Mumbai Cricket Association will receive this trophy having ended the year on a high with multiple trophies across categories.

  • Ranji Trophy 2012-13 
  • Under-25 C.K. Nayudu Trophy 
  • Under-16 Vijay Merchant Trophy 
  • Women's Under-19 Inter-State tournament

Special Mention:

  • R.G. (Bapu) Nadkarni, Farokh Engineer and Late Eknath Solkar have been selected to be felicitated by the BCCI for their contribution to Indian cricket.
  • Each will receive a memento and a cheque for Rs. 15 lakhs.

Other Awards:
Rohit Sharma : Dilip Sardesai Award for being India’s best cricketer in the recent Test series against the West Indies. 
Abhishek Nayar : Lala Amarnath Award, for being the best all-rounder in the 2012-13 edition of the Ranji Trophy.
Jiwanjot Singh Chouhan: Madhavrao Scindia Award for being higest scorer in Ranji Trophy.
Ishwar Pandey: Madhavrao Scindia Award for being higest wicket-taker in Ranji Trophy.
Karn Sharma: M.A Chidambaram Trophy for being best Under-25 cricketer.
Axar Patel: M.A Chidambaram Trophy for being best Under—19 cricketer.
Arman Jaffer: M.A Chidambaram Trophy for being best Under-16 cricketer.
M.D. Thirushkamini: M.A Chidambaram Trophy for being best woman Cricketer.
C Shamshuddin: Best umpire in domestic cricket.

Practice Questions