The Netherlands crowned champion of Inaugural Hockey World League

Comments (0)

The Netherlands crushed surprise finalist New Zealand 7-2 in the final to clinch the inaugural Hockey World League championship held in New Delhi. India finished a motivating 6th having trumped by Belgium 1-2 in the play-off to determine 5th and 6th place teams. 


  • England pipped the world champions Australia 2-1 to secure the bronze medal in a thrilling contest. 
  • The tournament, organised by the International Hockey Federation (FIH), consist of 4 rounds played over 2 years.
  • The final round features 8 teams (The host nation and 7 teams qualified from Round 3). 
  • The championship also serves as the qualifier for upcoming Hockey World Cup (men and women's) and the Olympic Games.
  • India had qualified to the final event as a host nation, and subsequently performed reasonably well considering that in mind.

Teams Ranking 

  • The Netherlands: 1st
  • New Zealand: 2nd
  • England: 3rd
  • Australia: 4th
  • Belgium: 5th
  • India: 6th
  • Germany: 7th
  • Argentina: 8th
Practice Questions