The Templeton Prize

Comments (0)

The award is given by the U.S.-based Templeton foundation which was established in 1972 by the late American-born investor and philanthropist John Templeton. The annual prize worth $1.7 million is the world's largest annual monetary award for the past 40 years even more than the Nobel Prize and is given to a living person "who has made an exceptional contribution to affirming life's spiritual dimension" whether through insight, discovery, or practical works.

The Prize aims to identify "entrepreneurs of the spirit"—outstanding individuals who have devoted their talents to expanding our vision of human purpose and ultimate reality. The Prize celebrates no particular faith tradition or notion of God, but rather the quest for progress in humanity’s efforts to comprehend the many and diverse manifestations of the Divine. Men and women of any creed, profession, or national origin may be nominated for the Templeton Prize. Previous winners includes representatives of Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Hinduism, and Buddhism, but also others as well. The Prize has been awarded to scientists, philosophers, theologians, members of the clergy, philanthropists, writers, and reformers, for work that has ranged from the creation of new religious orders and social-spiritual movements to human sciences scholarship, to research about the fundamental questions of existence, purpose and the origins of the universe.

Criteria: generally, but not limited to it ,in the fields of :

  • Research in the human sciences, life sciences, and physical sciences;
  • Scholarship in philosophy, theology, and other areas of the humanities.
  • Practice, including religious leadership, the creation of organizations that edify and inspire examples of "Spiritual Progress"; and the development of new schools of thought - most specifically in the Foundation core themes presented above;
  • Constructive Commentary In Journalism, and other modes of communication on matters of religion, virtue, character formation, and the flourishing of the human spirit.

PREVIOUS WINNERS : The first ever Templeton Prize in 1973 was given to Mother Teresa.

(2012) The 14th Dalai Lama
(2011) Martin J. Rees
(2010) Francisco J. Ayala
(2009) Bernard d’Espagnat
(2008) Michael Heller
(2007) Charles Taylor
(2006) John D. Barrow
(2005) Charles H. Townes
(2004) George F. R. Ellis
(2003) Holmes Rolston III
(2002) John C. Polkinghorne
(2001) Arthur Peacocke
(2000) Freeman J. Dyson
(1999) Ian Graeme Barbour
(1998) Sigmund Sternberg
(1997) Pandurang Shastri Athavale
(1996) William R. "Bill" Bright
(1995) Paul Davies
(1994) Michael Novak
(1993) Charles W. Colson
(1992) Kyung-Chik Han
(1991) Lord Jakobovits
(1990) Baba Amte ,awarded jointly with L. Charles Birch
(1989) Lord MacLeod awarded jointly with Carl Friedrich von Weizsäcker
(1988) Inamullah Khan
(1987) Stanley L. Jaki
(1986) James McCord
(1985) Alister Hardy
(1984) Michael Bourdeaux
(1983) Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn
(1982) Billy Graham
(1981) Cicely Saunders
(1980) Ralph Wendell Burhoe
(1979) Nikkyo Niwano
(1978) Thomas F. Torrance
(1977) Chiara Lubich
(1976) Leon Joseph Cardinal Suenens
(1975) Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
(1974) Brother Roger
(1973) Mother Teresa

SOURCE : Templeton foundation website

Practice Questions