Thomas Bach elected the new IOC President

Comments (0)
Germany's Thomas Bach has been elected as the new president of International Olympic Committee. He with this becomes the ninth president (the eighth European) in the 119-year history of the IOC succeeding Jacques Rogge. Till date all IOC Presidents have come from Europe except for American Avery Brundage (1952-72). 
Thomas Bach:
  • He was an Olympic fencing gold medalist (team foil event) at the 1976 Summer Olympics and presently heads Germany’s national Olympic committee.
  • He, elected to an eight-year term, would be eligible to run for a second and final four-year term in 2021.
  • Bach's successful election came against five other candidates, Sergey Bubka, Richard Carrion, Ser Miang Ng, Denis Oswald and Ching-Kuo Wu.
  • The International Olympic Committee, a corporation based in Lausanne (Switzerland), consists of the 205 National Olympic Committees.
  • It organizes the modern Olympic Games held in Summer and Winter, every four years.
  • It elects, by secret ballot, the IOC President from among its members for a term of eight years renewable once for a term of four years.
List of IOC Presidents
  • 1. Demetrius Vikelas (1894–1896)
  • 2. Pierre de Coubertin* (1896–1925): Longest serving
  • 3. Henri de Baillet-Latour (1925–1942)
  • 4. Sigfrid Edström (1942–1952)
  • 5. Avery Brundage (1952–1972): Only non European
  • 6. Lord Killanin (1972–1980)
  • 7. Juan Antonio Samaranch (1980–2001)
  • 8. Jacques Rogge (2001–2013)
  • 9. Thomas Bach (2013-Present)
*Godefroy de Blonay (1916–1919) was acting president when de Coubertin joined the French army in 1916 to participate in first world war.
Practice Questions